EXCLUSIVE! Terry Fator Keeps It Clean, With An Adult Edge

Comedian, singer, and master ventriloquist Terry Fator has been thrilling Las Vegas fans for over a decade. He will be bringing his critically-acclaimed show to the Gallo Center for the Arts in Modesto on November 16.

During my EXCLUSIVE interview, Fator said he prides himself on presenting a hysterical, clean show that provides yuks for fans both young and old.

“My humor is intellectually adult, but not dirty,” Fator said. “It’s Pixar or Warner Brothers cartoon humor, where the adults might get it but it’ll go right over the kids’ heads.”

“I don’t swear [in the show], and I’m very proud of that, actually. That is way harder to do than it is to write dirty humor. The dirty material itself isn’t the problem. It’s when a person depends on the material.”

“A good example is Richard Pryor, “ Fator continued. “He could do clean humor and be just as funny, so when he would dirty it up, he would use it to embellish the humor that was already there. As a humorist and a comedy writer, these are things that I had to learn.”

“I would much rather you bring your eight year old to see my show and walk out having them say they had a lot of fun, although they may not have gotten all of the jokes, than have a parent say ‘I can’t believe I’m going to have to explain this to my kid!’ “

Click here to read more from my interview with Fator, from the November 2019 issue of the Gallo Center Magazine, including how he turned a dated art form into a multimillion dollar-earning Vegas gig!

Published by Michael P Coleman

Freelance content creator. I used to talk to strangers and get punished. Now, I do it and get published.

Leave a comment